Data Journalism Podcast Production – Richard Aucock + Tim Sparks

The next project I want to talk about is recording lectures and producing audio podcasts. This was a very straightforward role I took early in the academic year to gain more experience with the radio microphones and working in a live event environment. These were half-formal guest lectures for the Journalism course, so the pressure wasn’t as much as an advertised event such as the Coventry Conversations, and it allowed me to test a lot, while still delivering results in a professional timescale and manner. So in each session, I was doing something a bit different, trying out the best setup and approach to producing the podcasts. I was experimenting with the microphone setups and position, with the way I was taking notes and editing the pieces, and with the way I was communicating with the people responsible for uploading the podcasts. I was able to deliver all podcasts on time, with good quality and clear descriptions, and as a result I have stayed in touch with the team and they continue contacting me for additional sound recording work.

One thought on “Data Journalism Podcast Production – Richard Aucock + Tim Sparks

  1. Pingback: 201MC Professional experience – list of my 20 working days | Rumena Zlatkova

Any thoughts?

