Video Task 1 – 160MC

Music by Tristan Feldbauer (used with permission; track featured: “Pitou Chez Les Poissons”)

This was the first video shoot in my life… Very challenging indeed. I thought that my experience in still photography and sound editing would make it easier for me, but actually, video production is a whole new concept, that deals with totally different parameters and values. I spent 3 hours reading handouts, notes, manuals and looking at video tutorials, just to understand how the camcorder works and how to do things right. Then, I went out and shot almost 25 minutes of footage, most of which was very boring and plain, but a good chance to try and play with the camera and see what I can do with it.

I tried to include everything I was expected to have in this task – high and low levels of ambient sound, slow shutter footage, a focus pull, different white ballance settings and some overexposure. Apart from that, I included some panning and zoom in/out. I didn’t have a tripod (I chose not to use one, so that I can focus on how to actually shoot), so I tried to make the best of the handheld shots.

As well as the first video shoot, it was also my first video edit. I know I didn’t reach great hights, but I hope I didn’t make any terrible mistakes. I was confused by Avid’s interface, so maybe next time I will try another piece of software. I missed the seconds counter on tracks, as well as transition effects and sound control – I guess they were right in front of my eyes, but still, I needed a more precise way to control what was happening and at which exactly second and frame I was. What is more, in the end the compression of the video was not what I expected, so I ended up with poor video quality. Next time I will research much more about how the different settings work and how to get the results I want.

Anyway, I hope to improve my skills and attempt to tell a story in my next video task.

3 thoughts on “Video Task 1 – 160MC

  1. Pingback: Anyone looking for a sound person for their Peope to People project? « Rumena Zlatkova’s Blog

  2. Pingback: Anyone looking for a sound person for their People to People project? « Rumena Zlatkova’s Blog

  3. Pingback: (Updated – I found a group!)Anyone looking for a sound person for their People to People project? « Rumena Zlatkova’s Blog

Any thoughts?

